+90 (446) 224 30 32 fenfak_yazi@erzincan.edu.tr


The Faculty of Arts and Sciences has been founded in accordance with the decision of the Council of Ministers numbered 03/5867 published in the Resmi Gazete dated 16.07.2003 and numbered 25170, depending upon Atatürk University.

With the decision taken at the Executive Board meeting of Higher Education Institution dated 28.09.2004, it was decided to open the Departments of Mathematics and Turkish Language and Literature within the body of Atatürk University, Erzincan Faculty of Arts and Sciences; and in the 2004-2005 academic year, students were accepted with additional quota and education was started in these departments.

When Erzincan University became a legal entity with the Law No. 5467 dated 01.03.2006, our Faculty has been named as Erzincan University Faculty of Arts and Sciences. In 2007, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geography and History departments; in 2015 Translation Studies; in 2016 Sociology and Contemporary Turkish Dialects and Literatures; in 2017 Philosophy and Psychology departments were established within the faculty. Among these, Biology, Physics and Chemistry Departments started to accept students in 2009-2010 academic year; in the same year the Department of Mathematics, History and Turkish Language and Literature opened the evening education and began accepting students. As of 2018, only the evening education in Turkish Language and Literature and History departments is active. Currently, Turkish Language and Literature, History, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Sociology and Geography departments are continuing education; and research activities are carried out in all departments.